The current existing church is believed to be the third building in the fort to serve the Dutch Reformed Church, the rst was located near the Galle Clock Tower. A second, more elaborate building was constructed opposite the present church, with only the belfry remaining today. The present church is said to have been built on the site of a Portuguese Capuchin Convent.
Watercolour painting of the Dutch Reformed Church, Galle by J. L. K. van Dort (1888)
The present church was built on the highest point in the Galle fort, which stands more than 12 m (39 ft) above sea level. The foundations of the church were initially laid in 1682 but further work stagnated for a number of decades. In 1755 the Commandeur of Galle, Casparus de Jong (Lord of Spanbroek), and his wife Geertruyda Adriana Le Grand donated the money for the church to be constructed as a thanksgiving for the birth of their daughter for which he had waited for many years. The child was not baptised until the church was completed. An entry in the Baptismal Register gives the date of baptism as 24 August 1755. In 1760 a second-hand organ from Colombo was installed in the church.
The church underwent various changes during the British Period. A stained glass window was built into the west façade of the church around 1830 and a communion rail was built in the south wing. At the beginning of the 20th century, a small organ was placed in the south wing. Around 1890, a canopy was built above the stained glass window to protect it from leaking.